Uncategorized

2013 Legislature Contact Information

Senate Education Committee: Dan Patrick, Chair Dan.Patrick@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0107 Eddie Lucio Eddie.Lucio@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0127 Donna Campbell Donna.Campbell@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0125 Robert Duncan Robert.Duncan@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0128 Ken Paxton Ken.Paxton@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0108 Kel Seliger Kel.Seliger@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0131 Larry Taylor Larry.Taylor@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0111 Royce West Royce.West@senate.state.tx.us 512-463-0123 House Public Education Committee: Jimmie Don Aycock, Chair Jimmie.Aycock@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0684 Alma Allen allen@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0744 John Davis john.davis@house.state.tx.us 512-463-0734 Joe Deshotel…

Continue Reading

 

Write to Senate Education Committee about Vouchers!

Dear Senator, I am writing to express my opposition to any bill that would allow private school vouchers supported by public funds. This includes tax-credit plans that would reduce the amount of money available to our public schools. I believe that every Texas child should have access to an excellent education in his or her neighborhood….

Continue Reading

 

Thousands Gather to Save Texas Schools!

Over 10,000 public school supporters marched up Congress Ave. and rallied at the Capitol on Saturday, Feb. 23. It was an incredible day! Now, let’s move forward and ACT! Click here for photos Click here for videos What You Can Do! 1. Sign the petition to return $5.4 billion to public education! We know now that…

Continue Reading

 

Rally Directions and Parking Map

Directions for buses: From the north, take I-35 southbound. Take the Riverside Dr. exit in downtown Austin, going west. Drop off marchers at the corner of Riverside and S. Congress at the Austin-American Statesman. Proceed to bus parking on west side of Capitol (see map). From the south, take the Ben White Ave. exit, going west….

Continue Reading

 

2013 Save Texas Schools Rally Posters

You can download these pdf’s to print your own posters, or write us at info@savetxschools and we’ll mail posters to you.     STS Bilingual Flyer 2013                 STS Rally 2013 Capitol Poster                   STS Rally 2013 T-Shirt Poster    …

Continue Reading

 

Texas schools running $1 billion short, expert testifies

Texas’ public schools are $1 billion short, meaning officials will soon have to seek that much in supplemental appropriations from the state Legislature to meet upcoming financial obligations, a top official said at the school finance trial Monday. Shirley Beaulieu, chief financial officer at the Texas Education Agency, testified before state District Judge John Dietz that…

Continue Reading

 

Order Your Save Texas Schools Rally T-Shirts!

Wear your STS rally t-shirt proudly and let people know where you’ll be on February 23! In yellow and blue, with adult and children’s sizes, nothing will tell people faster where you stand on the future of our education system. AVAILABLE NOW! Contact info@savetxschools.org for pre-orders. Available in yellow and aqua (blue) in both adult and…

Continue Reading

 

Statewide Education Listening Tour

Join the Texas AFT and other organizations in your area for a town hall meeting to create a vision for Texas public schools and discuss upcoming education issues in the 2013 legislative session. Questions include: What do our students need to acquire a quality education? Where should our schools focus their resources? How should we work…

Continue Reading

 

March to the Poll Fact Sheets

To be posted by October 20, 2012. Include with Media Advisory.

Continue Reading